Browse this collectionThis entry describes a series of records. Click here to browse the full catalogue including descriptions and reference numbers for individual records
Archive Reference / Library Class No.NCB/C
TitleNational Coal Board North Derbyshire Area
DescriptionIn 1967 the internal management structure of the National Coal Board was changed, with the divisions being eliminated. Collieries from the East Midlands Division wre re-distributed to the new areas of North Derbyshire, South Derbyshire, North Nottinghamshire, South Nottinghamshire, and South Midlands. The collieries of the North Derbyshire area in 1968 comprised Alfreton, Arkwright, 'A' Winning, 'B' Winning, Bolsover, Denby, Glapwell, High Moor, Holmewood, Ireland, Langwith, Markham, Ormonde, Oxcroft, Pleasley, Renishaw Park, Shirebrook, Swanwick, Warsop, Westthorpe, Whitwell and Williamthorpe.

In 1984, areas were organised as follows: Area Director, Deputy Directors and Senior Production Managers, Staff Manager / Secretary, with the following Departments: Estates, Finance, Industrial Relations, Legal, Marketing, Medical Service, Mining, Public Relations, Purchasing and Stores, Road Transport Service, Scientific Control, Administration, and Statistics. There were also the Central Rescue Stations, Central Stores, Central Workshops, and the individual collieries.

The records for the company have been arranged in the following series;
NCB/C/EST Estate records, 1967-1977
NCB/C/FIN Financial Department records, 1968-1982
NCB/C/IND Industrial Relations Department records, 1956-1986
NCB/C/MIN Mining Department and production records, 1959-1986
NCB/C/PHO Photographic collections, 20th cent
NCB/C/SCI Scientific Department files, 1970-1974
NCB/C/SEC Secreatry's Department adminstrative files and records, 1959-1986
NCB/C/STA Staff Department and employment records, 1970-1988
NCB/C/SUR Surveyors Department plans, 1968-1989
RepositoryDerbyshire Record Office
Archive CreatorNational Coal Board
Add to My Items