Browse this collectionThis entry describes a series of records. Click here to browse the full catalogue including descriptions and reference numbers for individual records
Archive Reference / Library Class No.NCB/B
TitleNational Coal Board East Midlands Division
DescriptionThe records for the company have been arranged in the following series:
NCB/B/ADM Management reports, 1947-1967
NCB/B/ASS Registration of assets of colliery companies following the nationalisation of the coal industry, 1946-1951
NCB/B/EST Estate records, 1950-1968
NCB/B/FIN Financial records, 1947-1962
NCB/B/IND Industrial relations records on wage agreements, 1946-1965
NCB/B/MED Medical services records on health insurance, 1932-1966
NCB/B/MIN Mining and production records, 1947-1962
NCB/B/SUR Plans and surveying files, 1947-1960
RepositoryDerbyshire Record Office
Archive CreatorNational Coal Board
Administrative HistoryAs a result of the nationalisation of the coal industry, the National Coal Board was established in 1947. Its top level of regional reorganisation consisted of eight divisions, which included the East Midlands Division. Within the division there were originally seven areas, reduced within a couple of years to six, which contained collieries in Derbyshire, Leicestershire and Nottinghamshire.

In 1950 the six areas comprised the following collieries:
Area No. 1: Bolsover, Oxcroft, Ramcroft, Renishaw Park, Westthorpe, Ireland Arkwright, Markham Nos.1, 2 and 4, Grassmoor, Holmewood, Morton, Williamthorpe, Pilsley, Parkhouse, Creswell, Glapwell, Langwith and Whitwell.
Area No. 3: Blidworth, Mansfield, Rufford, Sherwood, Harworth, Welbeck, Shirebrook, Warsop, Bilsthorpe, Ollerton, Thoresby and Clipstone.
Area No. 4: Annesley, Kirkby, Newstead, Alfreton, New Hucknall, Shirland, Sutton, Wingfield Manor, 'A' Winning, 'B' Winning, Bentinck, Brookhill, Cotes Park, Langton, Pinxton, South Normanton, Swanwick, Pleasley, Silverhill and Teversal.
Area No. 5: Coppice Nos. 1-2, Manners, Mapperley, Stanley and Hillside, Woodside Nos. 2-3, Shipley Drift, Denby, Denby Hall, New Langley, Ormonde, Cossall, High Peak, Lodge, Moorgreen, New Selston, Oakwood Grange, Pye Hill, Selston, Watnall and Area Central Workshops.
Area No. 6: Bestwood, Calverton, Gedling, Linby, Babbington Nos. 4 and 6, Clifton, Hucknall Nos. 1-2, Radford and Wollaton.
Area No. 7: Bagworth, Desford, Ellistown, Merry Lees, Nailstone, New Lount, Snibston, South Leicester, Whitwick, Church Gresley, Donisthorpe, Granville, Measham, Rawdon, Bretby, Cadley Hill and Swadlincote.

In 1967 the internal management structure of the Coal Board was changed, leading to the elimination of the division level and the re-distribution of collieries into the newly formed North Derbyshire

Show related Persons records.

Related Names
Name (click for further details)
Teversal, Nottinghamshire; Teversal Colliery; 1867-1980; coal mine
Shirebrook; Shirebrook Colliery; 1896-1993; coal mine
Add to My Items