Ref NoD504/38
TitleWest Derbyshire Liberal Association/West Derbyshire Liberal Unionist Association/West Derbyshire Unionist League
CreatorClients of Messrs Brooke Taylor & Company of Bakewell, solicitors
DescriptionThe West Derbyshire Liberal Unionist Association was the successor to the West Derbyshire Liberal Association which had existed in the 1880s but which split over the question of Home Rule for Ireland.
In 1909 the West Derbyshire Unionist Council was formed from meetings of the West Derbyshire Conservative Association, the West Derbyshire Liberal Unionist Association and the West Derbyshire Unionist League, in order to further the Unionist cause in the constituency. The Council was abolished in 1911 when all the Conservative and Liberal Unionist councils and organisations amalgamated to form the West Derbyshire Unionist League.

The Liberal Unionist candidate, the Hon. Victor C W Cavendish, was elected to Parliament for the West Derbyshire constituency in 1891. He successfully contested elections in 1892, 1900 and 1906. The 1906 election was fought against the Liberal candidate Mr Edward Hinmers. In 1908 he succeeded to the peerage on the death of his father the Duke of Devonshire, upon which the Earl of Kerry was chosen as the Unionist candidate. He was returned unopposed in 1908 and also won in the February 1910 General Election against the Liberal candidate Mr Charles F White.

Colonel H Brooke Taylor, who collected these papers, was Secretary of the old West Derbyshire Liberal Association, the West Derbyshire Joint Unionist Committee and the West Derbyshire Unionist Council. He also acted as Mr Cavendish's election agent.
Extent44 items
Related MaterialFor further material relating to the Liberal Unionist and Unionist parties in West Derbyshire, see D307/UL, D602 Z/Z1-81, D1528 and D5909
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2021