Ref NoD3246
TitleChesterfield County Court
CreatorChesterfield County Court
Organsation TypeOfficial Bodies - Justice, Law and Order
Organsation Sub-TypeCounty Court
Extent13 boxes
Finding AidsTo see a full list for this collection, click the link below
Administrative HistoryThe court's area of jurisdiction included Barlow, Bolsover, Brampton, Brimington, Cutthorpe, Calow, Chesterfield, Clay Cross, Coal Aston, Dronfield, Eckington and its townships, Hasland, Heath, Holmesfield, Killamarsh, Newbold, North Wingfield, Staveley, Sutton cum Duckmanton, Tapton, Temple Normanton, Tupton, Unstone, Walton, Whittington, Wingerworth.
The modern county courts were established by an Act of 1846 intended to create courts for the easier recovery of small debts. Successive Acts added considerably to the County Courts' powers of jurisdiction but the records surviving for Chesterfield County Court do not reflect the full range of their jurisdiction. They do however include registers under the Workmen's Compensation Acts (and see D3246/3/5) and a reference to Bankruptcy Act 1883 (see D3246/2/1).
Custodial HistoryTransferred as public records to Derbyshire Record Office in 1989
Access ConditionsSome of the records in this collection are not normally made available for public consultation, because they contain personal information which is protected by law
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2021