Ref NoD1820
TitleClosed Derbyshire Methodist Churches
Date19th-20th cent
CreatorDerbyshire Methodist Churches
Organsation TypeOrganisations - Religious Faith
Organsation Sub-TypeMethodist Circuits/Districts
DescriptionMarriage registers and other records including trust papers and photocopy baptism/birth register for Bakewell Wesleyan Methodist Circuit, 1807-1836
Includes registers of marriage for Methodist places of worship in the following areas:
Alfreton, Ashbourne, Bakewell, Barrow-on-Trent, Beighton, Belper, Bolsover (and New Bolsover), Bradwell, Brimington, Buxton, Chaddesden, Chesterfield, Church Gresley, Clay Cross, Clowne, Codnor, Cotmanhay, Creswell, Crich, Curbar, Denby, Derby, Draycott, Eckington, Fairfield, Glossop, Hadfield, Hayfield, Heanor, Holmewood, Ilkeston, Langley, Leabrooks, Little Hayfield, Long Eaton, Longnor, Matlock, Matlock Bath, Milford, Netherseal, New Mills (and Newtown), Newhall, Osmaston-by-Derby, Overseal, Pye Hill in Selston (Nottinghamshire), Ripley, Rosliston, Sandiacre, Sheepbridge, Shirebrook, Shuttlewood, Somercotes, South Normanton, Staveley, Swadlincote, Tideswell, Whitfield, Whittington (and New Whittington, Old Whittington), Wirksworth, Wormhill, Youlgreave.
Finding Aids.
Custodial HistoryThe first of these registers to be deposited in Derbyshire Record Office were deposited by the Methodist Church through the Methodist Archives and Research Centre in 1977. Since then, registers have been deposited in the office via the General Register Office.

271 marriage registers were deposited in Derbyshire Record Office in 1977 and were arranged alphabetically by church/chapel. Registers deposited subsequently were arranged as they came in rather than alphabetically.

Acquired by Derbyshire Record Office in 1978.
AcknowledgementsAdded to the catalogue as part of the FindersKeepers project, with the help of MmF
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2022